The Norwegian Red List for Species is the list of species that have a risk of going extinct in Norway. It is prepared by the Norwegian Biodiversity Information Centre in accordance with criteria from the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN).

Mycena cyanorhiza (DD) is a small bonnet mushroom with a striking sky-blue base to the stem. It grows on conifer bark and twigs.

Species are generally included on the Red List because they are rare, or because the number of individuals is in strong decline. Habitat fragmentation and loss also contribute to increasing a species’ risk of extinction.

Red List categories

The Norwegian Red List is revised regularly, most recently in 2015. The assessments are made by a total of 90 experts commissioned by the NBIC.

The species in the Red List are assigned to one of six categories, ranked by their risk of extinction. The categories are:

  •     Regionally Extinct (RE)
  •     Critically Endangered (CR)
  •     Endangered (EN)
  •     Vulnerable (VU)
  •     Near Threatened (NT)
  •     Data Deficient (DD)

What is the difference between red-listed and threatened species?

All species on the Red List are called red-listed species. Species that are classified as Critically Endangered (CR), Endangered (EN) or Vulnerable (VU) are called threatened species. These species have a high to extremely high risk of extinction in Norway.

Species that are at risk of extinction, but for which there is considerable uncertainty about the degree of risk, are classified as Data Deficient (DD).

Species that have viable populations are not considered to be red-listed species, but are categorised as Least Concern (LC).

By the numbers

The 2015 Norwegian Red List for Species contains 4438 species, of which 2355 are classified as threatened. Of these threatened species, 241 are categorized as Critically Endangered (CR), 879 are Endangered (EN), and 1235 are Vulnerable (VU).

Atlantic puffin Fratercula arctica

Atlantic puffin Fratercula arctica (VU). 75 % of the Norwegian population is localised to the two northern counties Nordland and Troms.